Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content

Archive Staff Picks - July 2013

|

Contact Us

  Archived Staff Picks - July 2013

:

Prodigy (Legend #2)
 By: Marie Lu
 Recommended by Pauline

The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu's New York Times bestseller, LEGEND - perfect for fans of  THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT! June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request - June and Day must assassinate the new Elector. It's their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long. But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she's haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood - what if the Patriots are wrong?
Prodigy maintains a fast pace and riveting examination of life in a strict dystopian society while continuing to portray an endearing, believable love story between Day, the Republic of American's most wanted and June, their star military trainee. Yet not once does this romance get in the way, or take precedence over, a captivating story.
  
This title is available in Young Adult Fiction.

 

 

A Conspiracy of Faith
By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
Recommended by Marilyn

Inspector Carl Morck and his raffish colleagues at Copenhagen's Department Q go up against a truly fiendish kidnapper. A few days after he and his brother Tryggve were abducted, Poul Holt managed to scrawl a plea for help in his own blood, deposit it in a bottle and toss it into the sea. Hundreds of miles away, the bottle made landfall and was turned over to Scottish Police Sgt. David Bell, who made no attempt to open his discovery. Years passed. Bell died. A computer expert in his station smashed the bottle and immediately contacted Department Q, the perfect venue for the case since "it's old, it's unsolved, and no one else could be bothered." The group's assignment begins with trying to figure out, after all this time, what the message says, who wrote it and when. These tasks are made more difficult since no one reported any children missing at the time and place the message indicates. While Carl and his crew are working feverishly on the dead case, the kidnapper is at work bringing it very much back to life by targeting another pair of children, Magdalena Krogh and her big brother Samuel (The reason why he prefers to snatch two victims at a time is the story's most cunning secret, and it's most disturbing.) Even after Carl and his Syrian assistant Hafez el-Assad have surmounted the obstacles thrown up by Poul Holt's parents, who insist that he is still alive, they'll have to overcome a much wider conspiracy of silence the kidnapper has been counting on to make accomplices of his victims' families for all these years.
  
This title is available in Book and Book on CD formats. 
This review is from the Kirkus Reviews.

 

 

Killing Lincoln: The Shocking   Assassination That Changed America Forever
By: Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard
Recommended by Robert

My wife might have noticed a slight grimace when I opened up one of my presents at Christmas. Since I am not great fan of Fox personality Bill O'Reilly, I probably displayed less than my normal level of enthusiasm in tackling "Killing Lincoln". I also wondered what kind of spin Mr. O'Reilly might put on the assassination of Abraham Lincoln by John Wilkes Booth. Nevertheless, I always read my book presents and I eventually tackled this particular tome.
I was pleasantly surprised. Assisted by historian Martin Dugard, Mr. O'Reilly has created a riveting narrative of the Lincoln assassination. We are introduced to all of the major participants and to many of the minor ones as well. Mr. Lincoln is shown to be a tortured leader who has taken on the entire weight of his office to lead America out of a hard fought and divisive civil war. John Wilkes Booth is shown to be fanatical racist who wished to overturn the South's loss of the war. O'Reilly and Dugard take us from Lee's surrender at Appomattox, through the conspiracy and execution of the crime to the eventual hanging of the conspirators. In the style of a thriller novel, we are carried through the events of the spring of 1865, culminating in the death of a president who would have bestowed more good faith to the South than those that would have succeeded him. We also realize that John Wilkes Booth would never become the hero of his dreams, but would be tarred as the leader of a group of ragtag misfits. Yet no book on political assassination seems to lack a conspiracy thesis. This one hints that a well-connected detective, Lafayette Baker, seemed to know more than he should have.
While some reviewers have questioned the accuracy of the events chronicled in "Killing Lincoln", others are impressed by the author's to make history come alive in the manner of a thriller novel. It is felt that this kind of history could stimulate a student's interest in this subject. I am even looking forward to reading "Killing Kennedy" and the soon to be published "Killing Jesus" by this literary duo. Give it a try; a true story could be more fascinating than a fictional one.

This title is available in Book, Book on CD and Downloadable Audiobook formats.

 

 

 

Perks of Being a Wallflower (DVD)
Written and Directed By: Stephen Chbosky
Recommended by Kathy

One of the most honest and assured teen dramas in recent memory, writer/director Stephen Chbosky's The Perks of Being a Wallflower feels in many ways like vintage John Hughes, only infused with a bit more substance and transplanted to the mid-"90s. Filled with expressive, well-rounded characters, directed with restraint but remarkable attention to detail, and possessing a distinctive sense of time and place that evokes nostalgia without wallowing in it, the movie portrays the universal truth of adolescence in a manner that speaks to multiple generations and possesses all the hallmarks of a contemporary teen classic. Jason Buchanan - TV Guide.
Beginning high school can be tough enough, but even worse can be finding the right crowd to hang out with. This DVD exposes the fears most of us felt upon entering high school and the joy that came with finding people who encouraged us and understood us better than we sometimes knew ourselves.
A funny touching coming-of-age story based on the beloved best-selling novel by Stephen Chbosky, THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER is a modern classic that captures the dizzying highs and crushing lows of growing up. Starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson and Ezra Miller, THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER is a moving tale of love, loss, fear and hope - and the unforgettable friends that help us through life.

This title is available DVD and Young Adult Fiction formats.
This review is from perks-of-being-a-wallflower.com

 

 

Whiskey Beach
By: Nora Roberts
Recommended by Kim

For more than three hundred years, Bluff House has sat above Whiskey Beach, guarding its shore - and its secrets.
To summer tourists, it's the crown jewel of the town's stunning scenery. To the residents of Whiskey Beach, it's landmark and legend. To Eli Landon it's   home ...
A Boston lawyer, Eli has weathered an intense year of public scrutiny and police investigation after being accused of murdering his soon-to-be-ex-wife.  And though there was never enough evidence to have him arrested, his reputation is in tatters as well as his soul. He needs sanctuary. He needs Bluff House.
While Eli's grandmother is in Boston, recuperating from a nasty fall, Abra Walsh has care for Bluff House, among her other jobs as yoga instructor, jewellery maker, and massage therapist. She is a woman with and open heart and a wide embrace, and no one is sage from her special, some would say overbearing, brand of nurturing - including Eli.
He begins to count on Abra for far more than her cooking, cleaning, and massage skills, and starts to feel less like a victim - and more like the kind of man who can finally solve the murder of his wife and clear his name.   But Bluff House's many mysteries are a siren song to someone intent on destroying Eli and reaping the rewards. He and Abra will become entangled in a centuries-old net of rumours and half-truths that could pull them under the thunderous waters of Whiskey Beach ...
Passion and obsession, humour and heart flow together in a novel about two people opening themselves up to the truth - and to each other. This is a good   book to read at the beach.
  
This title is available in Book, Book on CD and Large Print formats.

  
  
  
ConnectMap

Social Media

Trenton Main Branch
7 Creswell Drive
Trenton, ON
K8V 6X5
View Map
Tel.: (613) 394-3381
Fax: (613) 394-2079



eNews Sign Up

City of Quinte West Public Flex GIS

Welcome to the City of Quinte West Public Flex GIS map site. The mapping system runs on ESRI's ArcGIS for Flex.



Features Include:
  • Arial Photos for 2013, 2008 and 2002
  • Locate addresses, roads, parks, schools, and much more.
  • Embed Google Street View.
Click here to download the latest version of Flash.
Please click on the link below to visit our interactive mapping site.