Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.
Skip to Content

Archived Staff Picks - October 2020

|

Contact Us

Everything is Figureoutable 
By: Marie Forleo
Recommended by Krista

Everything is Figureoutable challenges the reader to dismiss old beliefs that can be holding you back from achieving your dreams. She takes on notions like I don’t have time, I’m not ready, I’m not good enough and shows us how to get past them with practical advice. Marie shows us how we can find an extra two hours a day or the amount of time in 18 work weeks every year. She provides great examples from a variety of people from different demographics about how they used this mantra to make changes in their lives. A great read.

This title is available in Regular Print and Sound Recording formats.

******************************************************************************************************************

The Family Upstairs
By: Lisa Jewel
Recommended by Rachel 

Twenty-five years ago, police were called to 16 Cheyne Walk with reports of a baby crying. When they arrived, they found a healthy ten-month-old in her crib in the bedroom. Downstairs in the kitchen lay three dead bodies, all dressed in black, next to a hastily scrawled note.
Years later Libby Jones gets a letter on her twenty fitfh birthday. She rips it open with one driving thought: I am finally going to know who I am.
She soon learns not only the identity of her birth parents, but also that she is the sole inheritor of their abandoned mansion on the banks of the Thames in London’s fashionable Chelsea neighbourhood, worth millions. Everything in Libby’s life is about to change. But what she can’t possibly know is that others have been waiting for this day as well—and she is on a collision course to meet them.
With many twists and turns this thriller will keep you reading and surprise you even at the end!

This title is available in Regular Print, Sound Recording, Downloadable eBook and Audiobook formats.

****************************************************************************************************

My Lovely Wife
By:  Samantha Downing
Recommended by Yvonne

This is author Samantha Downing's first novel and I cannot wait to read more from her!  Novelist describes the feel of this novel as intensifying (pace) and disturbing & suspenseful (tone) meanwhile, the book jacket described it as “Dexter meets Mr. & Mrs. Smith in this wildly compulsive debut thriller about a couple whose fifteen-year marriage has finally gotten too interesting…”
Summary taken from Novelist: Our love story is simple. I met a gorgeous woman. We fell in love. We had kids. We moved to the suburbs. We told each other our biggest dreams, and our darkest secrets. And then we got bored. We look like a normal couple. We're your neighbors, the parents of your kid's friend, the acquaintances you keep meaning to get dinner with. We all have our secrets to keeping a marriage alive. Ours just happens to be getting away with murder.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book from cover to cover.  My Lovely Wife grabs the reader from the first chapter, well actually from the first sentence of the second chapter…and never lets go.  Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and B.A. Paris.

This title is available in Regular Print, Downloadable eBook and Audiobook formats.

****************************************************************************************************

Winter in Paradise
By:  Elin Hilderbrand
Recommended by Kim

A husband’s secret life, a wife’s new beginning: escape to the Caribbean with #1 New York Times bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand.

Irene Steele shares her idyllic life in a beautiful Iowa City Victorian house with a husband who loves her to sky-writing, sentimental extremes. But as she rings in the New Year one cold and snowy night, everything she thought she knew falls to pieces with a shocking phone call: her beloved husband, away on business, has been killed in a helicopter crash. Before Irene can even process the news, she must first confront the perplexing details of her husband’s death on the distant Caribbean island of St. John.
After Irene and her sons arrive at this faraway paradise, they make yet another shocking discovery: her husband had been living a secret life. As Irene untangles a web of intrigue and deceit, and as she and her sons find themselves drawn into the vibrant island culture, they have to face the truth about their family, and about their own futures.
Rich with the lush beauty of the tropics and the drama, romance, and intrigue only Elin Hilderbrand can deliver, Winter in Paradise is a truly transporting novel, and the exciting start to a new series
If you were to go by the cover of this book, you would think that it is a romance but once into it I happily discovered that there was a lot of mystery and intrigue involved.  Looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

This title is available in Regular Print, Sound Recording, Downloadable eBook and Audiobook formats.
This review is from the author’s website. 

****************************************************************************************************

Exile
By: Christina Baker Kline
Recommended by Marilyn

Seduced by her employer’s son, Evangeline, a naïve young governess in early nineteenth-century London, is discharged when her pregnancy is discovered and sent to the notorious Newgate Prison. After months in the fetid, overcrowded jail, she learns she is sentenced to “the land beyond the seas,” Van Diemen’s Land, a penal colony in Australia. Though uncertain of what awaits, Evangeline knows one thing: the child she carries will be born on the months-long voyage to this distant land.
During the journey on a repurposed slave ship, the Medea, Evangeline strikes up a friendship with Hazel, a girl little older than her former pupils who was sentenced to seven years transport for stealing a silver spoon. Canny where Evangeline is guileless, Hazel -- a skilled midwife and herbalist – is soon offering home remedies to both prisoners and sailors in return for a variety of favors.
Though Australia has been home to Aboriginal people for more than 50,000 years, the British government in the 1840s considers its fledgling colony uninhabited and unsettled, and views the natives as an unpleasant nuisance. By the time the Medea arrives, many of them have been forcibly relocated, their land seized by white colonists. One of these relocated people is Mathinna, the orphaned daughter of the Chief of the Lowreenne tribe, who has been adopted by the new governor of Van Diemen’s Land.
In this gorgeous novel, Christina Baker Kline brilliantly recreates the beginnings of a new society in a beautiful and challenging land, telling the story of Australia from a fresh perspective, through the experiences of Evangeline, Hazel, and Mathinna. While life in Australia is punishing and often brutally unfair, it is also, for some, an opportunity: for redemption, for a new way of life, for unimagined freedom. Told in exquisite detail and incisive prose, The Exiles is a story of grace born from hardship, the unbreakable bonds of female friendships, and the unfettering of legacy.

This title is available in Regular Print format.
This review is from www.goodreads.com.

****************************************************************************************************

Batman: Last Knight on Earth
By:  Scott Snyder (Author) & Greg Capullo (Illustrator)
Recommended by David

Set twenty years in the future, Bruce Wayne wakes up in Arkham Asylum. Young. Sane. And...he's never been Batman. To piece together the mystery of his past, the Dark Knight embarks on a sprawling quest through this unknown world, meeting futuristic versions of former friends and enemies. 

This title is available on Hoopla.

ConnectMap

Social Media

Trenton Main Branch
7 Creswell Drive
Trenton, ON
K8V 6X5
View Map
Tel.: (613) 394-3381
Fax: (613) 394-2079



eNews Sign Up

City of Quinte West Public Flex GIS

Welcome to the City of Quinte West Public Flex GIS map site. The mapping system runs on ESRI's ArcGIS for Flex.



Features Include:
  • Arial Photos for 2013, 2008 and 2002
  • Locate addresses, roads, parks, schools, and much more.
  • Embed Google Street View.
Click here to download the latest version of Flash.
Please click on the link below to visit our interactive mapping site.